Committees

 

 

 

o   Budget/Finance This committee monitors the finances of the Union, makes budgetary recommendations to the Executive Board & assists in the presentation to the membership each year. The committee meets quarterly & is chaired by Matt Palermo, Secretary/Treasurer. He can be reached at: mpalermo@cwa1168.org
   
o   Equity/Women’s This committee helps the Local eliminate discrimination on the basis of sex, race, creed, color or any other unfair standard.   The committee collects data on the workforce, assists individuals faced with discrimination, & seeks to increase minority participation in all Union activities.  The committee is chaired by Vacant (TBD).
   
o   Community Service This committee develops programs to strengthen our community & to coordinate member participation in community services such as United Way fund drives, clothing collections & food bank collections. The committee meets monthly & is chaired by Karen Howard, AVP DMH RN & TCCS.  She can be reached at: khoward@cwa1168.org.
   
o   Health/Safety This committee helps to develop the Local’s Health & Safety Program as well as prepare educational materials & training for members & other organizations on health & safety issues.   The committee meets bi-monthly & is chaired by Denise Abbott, Director of Health/Safety.  She can be reached at: dabbott@cwa1168.org.
   
o   Education This committee helps develop educational materials, including the web page, & conducts Union Orientation at new employee orientation. This committee meets as needed & is chaired by Kaitlyn Urban, Director of Education/Communication. She can be reached at: kurban@cwa1168.org
   
o   Legislative This committee helps to promote the Union’s position on Local, State & Federal Legislation, lobby public officials, encourage membership voter registration, PAF Contributions & to help in the campaigns of CWA endorsed candidates for public office. This committee meets as needed & is chaired by Sarah Buckley, Director of Legislation / Political Action.  She can be reached at: sbuckley@cwa1168.org.
   
o   Election This committee is charged with conducting elections for Local Union Officers, Chief Stewards, Stewards & Bargaining Committees, as well as conducting ratification votes & referenda in accordance with the Local By-Laws. The committee meets as needed & is chaired by Denise Abbott, Director of Health/Safety.  She can be reached at: dabbott@cwa1168.org.
   
o   Organizing / Mobilization This committee helps employees at non-union workplaces organize a union and join CWA, as well as mobilize CWA members at the Local’s current work sites for activities and actions. The committee meets monthly and is chaired by Mary Nowocien, Director of Organizing/Mobilizing.  He can be reached at: mnowocien@cwa1168.org

 

 

Helpful Websites