EJ Mays

Each fall the WNY Council of the Communications Workers of America solicits applications for the EJ Mays scholarship. The applications are typically available in the early fall and are due the first week of November. The scholarships are awarded based on a lottery system. Any current or retired member of CWA, and any spouse or dependent of a current, retired or deceased CWA member are eligible. The only qualifying criteria is that the recipient must be enrolled full time in an accredited two or four-year program. The recipients are notified in November and asked to attend a reception in January where they are honored.

Deadline is 12/22/2020

Joe Beirne

The national office of CWA also offers a lottery-based scholarship named in memory of Joe Beirne, the founding President of CWA. Please find the necessary information at Applications are typically accepted November through April for the following academic year. Please contact the national office with any questions you may have after reviewing the information on their website.

Union Plus

Union Plus offers merit-based scholarships. Their applications are accepted from June through January each year. Recipients are notified by the end of May and money can be applied to education beginning that fall. Please visit their website for more information:

Union Plus also offers many free resources to help students prepare for college and graduate school through their College Planning Center

Helpful Websites